GLHP

Ghent Lambing & Husbandry Project

Learn about our vision and our goals

Explore previous seasons

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

Vision & Goals

The Ghent Lambing & Husbandry project (GLHP) is a project that started two years ago, after a small post on Facebook, requesting a few students to assist lambing in Orkney. So many students applied that we decided to look for more placements where we could send our students to get that hands on experience. What started with this one post, turned into a 95 student operation (2018). Both the interest from farmers as well as from the students grew so much, that we were able to triple the number of students this past year (2019). Today we are a team of thirteen very enthusiastic veterinary students. We provide lambing and husbandry placement in mostly the UK, but also the Netherlands, Belgium, Iceland and France. We as veterinary students at Ghent University want to make it a possibility for our fellow students to get some hands on experience. The objective of our student society is to contribute not only to a practical, educational development, but also to provide an international platform to our fellow students. As a daughter division of VDK ( the Flemish Veterinary Students’ Association) we have a strong backbone in the academic world and also an integrated cooperation with other daughter divisions like IVSA, which is focussed on internationalisation.

As students from UGhent we would like to expand the practical experience we get. Our main goal is to build a bridge between the studies of veterinary medicine and the realities in our future. Skills learned and developed by working in the farm environment can only add value to the knowledge we have accumulated in our studies. Therefore, we created this project to connect students from our university to farms all over Europe.

Last year (2019), we were able to send approximately 270 students to 53 farms spread over the UK. As of this year (2020), we would like to provide placement for even more students and add Husbandry to our resume. With your help we would like to make this possible! Below you'll find our email-address, Facebook page and application form for farmers. Whether you are a small farm or large, a dairy or meat farm or meat farm, you've got pigs, horses or a mixture of all these: please don't hesitate to apply. Also know that we want to make it a wonderful experience for you too!

Not to worry, we make sure our students get information and practice a bit of skill at our University before we send them off. There is however a difference between students: second years do have less experience with lambing, but we want to make it possible for them to help out too. There is a question about this in the application, so let us know your preference. There's also an application for our students to fill in. When they close, we try to find the best fit for you and the students.

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

Contact

image

+32 476 52 19 24

image

+44 77 5726 5890

image

Ann van Eetvelt

President

image

Robin Botermans

IVSA liaison

image

Dominique Croockewit

Vice-president / VDK-liaison / Public Relations / Treasurer

image

Dagmar Vannieuwenhuyse

Secretary / student communication

image

Gwendoline Moyaert

Webmaster/Media

image

Sophie Smit

DSR/externship committee

image

Joyce Schumans

Communication Faculty

image

Céline Decoster

Region Orkney & France

image

Karlijn van Malder

Region Belgium & Netherlands

image

Daphné Blockx

Region Scotland

image

Maria Cherepanova

Region Wales & PR-intern

image

Yanina Verplanke

Region England

image

Alexander Taffeiren

Region Ireland & Iceland

image

ghentlambingproject@gmail.com

Contact us or visit our Facebook page!


Farmers

As explained above, GLHP’s goal is to provide our students with placement at a farm to get more experienced in the field. But we'd also like to provide an extra pair of hands for you. We're looking for farmers/veterinarians/shelters/stables who love their work and want to share their passion and knowledge. We want our students to learn as much as possible, from feeding sheep/looking after pet lambs to taking care of pups/foals/calfs to help with difficult lambings and to (know when to) intervene when necessary. Please read the forms below. In there, you'll find information about how an exchange ‘works' and what to expect from us and what we expect from you.


What we will expect and what you can expect

  • We expect you to provide food and drinks for the students during the stay (breakfast, lunch, dinner, possibly some snacks).

  • We expect you to provide accommodation for the students. If necessary, the students can provide a sleeping bag themselves. Be sure to let them know in time.

  • Providing transport between the station and the farm, in deliberation with the student. The students will contact you for this. They will arrange and pay for transport to the station themselves. If the students come in pairs, we ask them to travel together so that they arrive at the station / airport together as well.

  • The purpose of a lambing / husbandry internship is to give veterinary medicine students the opportunity to gain experience and learn new things. Some students have more experience than others. Give the students the opportunity to roll up their sleeves themselves and guide them when they feel insecure or when they have questions.

  • We cannot guarantee that we can send students to all farmers that have completed the application form.

  • It’s not obligate to give the students a remuneration for their help, they work voluntarily.

Lambing - Application Form

Husbandry - Application Form


Note: application for 2019-2020 runs from July till September. After that we might not be able to select the right student or one at all. We can however add you to the list for the year thereafter (2021).

image
image
image
image

Students

Dear fellow students, if you're interested in lambing/husbandry and aren't afraid to get dirty, roll up your sleeves and work very hard, late and/or early hours, but want to get a load of experience, we're the ones you need to contact! We try to provide the best fit for you to improve your knowledge and skills. We want to make it easier for you to step out of your comfort zone, to apply and find the experience you're looking for. Building a bridge between our theoretical classes and your future job.


Application Form


Note: the deadline for application is September. Please know that when you apply thereafter we might not be able to schedule you in. There is no list in this case. You have to apply each year via the application form.

FAQ

image
image
image
image

Testimonials

Gill Jones
Pentrefarm, Wales

"It’s a great way to meet and make friends with people from other European nations – and see the farming side of life. Students gain so much experience and get more confident even in just a week."

Peter Myles
Dalbog, Scotland

"We have hosted Ghent students for a few years now, and I'm immensely proud to have played a small part in establishing the Ghent Lambing Project, the GLP students are intelligent, sharp, with a good command of English, they are enthusiastic, willing to learn and develop their skills, they also bring a little bit of joy and fun to the shed and lambing fields during an otherwise stressful time of year."

John Orr
Churchtown, Ireland

"It was a very satisfactory experience for us and I think it was satisfactory for them, too."

image
image

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

Vision & Objectifs

Le Ghent Lambing & Husbandry project (GLHP) est un projet qui a démarré il y a deux ans, après la publication d'un petit post sur Facebook, demandant à quelques étudiants d'aider durant la période d'agnelage à Orkney. Les inscriptions d'étudiants furent tellement nombreuses que nous avons décidé de rechercher d'autres lieux pour permettre à nos étudiants de bénéficier de cette expérience. Ce qui avait démarré avec un seul post s'est transformé en un mouvement comptant 95 étudiants (2018). L'intérêt tant des fermiers que des étudiants a grandi de telle manière que l'année écoulée (2019) nous avons triplé la participation estudiantine. Aujourd'hui nous sommes une équipe de treize étudiants vétérinaires enthousiastes à guider ce projet. Nous proposons des stages sur des sites d'élevage et d'agnelage dans quasi tout le Royaume-Uni mais aussi aux Pays-Bas, en Belgique, en Islande et en France. En tant qu'étudiants vétérinaires à l'Université de Gand, nous souhaitons que tous nos collègues-étudiants puissent avoir la possibilité de participer à ce type d'expériences. L'objectif de notre organisation est de contribuer non seulement au développement pratique et pédagogique mais également d'offrir une plateforme internationale à nos collègues et amis étudiants. En tant que filiale du VDK ( le Cercle d’étudiants Vétérinaire Flamand) nous profitons d’une forte aide du monde académique, nous travaillons aussi de manière intégrée avec d’autres filiales tournées vers l’international comme l'IVSA (International Veterinary Students' Association).

En tant qu'étudiants de l'UGent nous voudrions développer l'expérience pratique que nous avons acquise. Notre but principal est de construire un pont entre nos études de vétérinaire et notre futur métier pratique. Nous voulons nous préparer au mieux et les compétences que nous aurons acquises et développées lors de nos activités dans le milieu agricole ne peuvent qu'ajouter de la valeur aux connaissances que nous avons accumulées lors de nos études. C'est la raison pour laquelle nous avons mis sur pied ce projet, afin de créer un lien entre le monde universitaire et les exploitations agricoles.

L'an dernier (2019), nous avons pu envoyer près de 270 étudiants dans 53 exploitations agricoles réparties sur tout le Royaume-Uni. Cette année (2020), nous voudrions trouver des stages pour encore plus d'étudiants et nous aimerions ajouter d’autre animaux d’élevage à notre liste. Avec votre soutien, nous aimerions atteindre ce but! Ci-dessous vous trouverez notre lien Facebook ainsi qu'un formulaire de candidature pour tout exploitant agricole intéressé. Que vous soyiez une petite ou une grande exploitation, une exploitation laitière ou une ferme bovine, que vous ayez des porcs, des chevaux ou une combinaison de ceux-ci, vous êtes le bienvenu. N'hésitez donc pas à nous contacter et à introduire votre candidature. Sachez également que nous souhaitons que cette expérience devienne inoubliable pour vous aussi!

Dans tous les cas nous nous assurons que nos étudiants soient suffisamment informés et qu'ils disposent d'un minimum de compétences entraînées à la faculté avant qu'ils n'arrivent chez vous. Toutefois, il existe des différences entre les étudiants : les étudiants de seconde année ont moins d'expérience avec la mise bas mais nous voulons quand même leur offrir la possibilité de voyager et de donner un coup de main. Une question attrait à cet aspect dans le formulaire de candidature, faites-nous donc connaître votre préférence. Nos étudiants doivent également compléter un questionnaire d'inscription. Au final, nous essayons de trouver la solution parfaite pour les deux partis.

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

Contact

image

Ann van Eetvelt

President

image

Robin Botermans

IVSA liaison

image

Dominique Croockewit

Vice-president / VDK-liaison / Public Relations / Treasurer

image

Dagmar Vannieuwenhuyse

Secretary / student communication

image

Gwendoline Moyaert

Webmaster/Media

image

Sophie Smit

DSR/externship committee

image

Joyce Schumans

Communication Faculty

image

Céline Decoster

Region Orkney & France

image

Karlijn van Malder

Region Belgium & Netherlands

image

Daphné Blockx

Region Scotland

image

Maria Cherepanova

Region Wales & PR-intern

image

Yanina Verplanke

Region England

image

Alexander Taffeiren

Region Ireland & Iceland

ghentlambingproject@gmail.com

Contact us or visit our Facebook page!


Fermiers

Comme expliqué précédemment, notre association, le GLHP, souhaite trouver des emplacement de stage dans des ferme afin que nos étudiants puissent acquérir de l'expérience dans ce secteur. Mais nous souhaitons également que vous puissiez bénéficier d’une paire de bras supplémentaires. Nous recherchons des exploitants agricole/vétérinaires/des responsables de refuges/des écuries qui sont passionnés par leur travail et qui sont prêts à partager leur passion et leurs connaissances. Nous voulons que nos étudiants puissent élargir un maximum leurs compétences et ceci allant de l'alimentation des moutons à la surveillance d’agneaux, des soins procurés aux chiots/poulains/veaux jusqu'à l'intervention lors de mises à bas difficiles et du fait de pouvoir juger quand une intervention est requise. Lisez bien les fiches ci-dessous, vous y trouverez toute les information relatives à la manière dont un échange se déroule et ce que vous pouvez attendre de notre part et ce que nous attendrons de la vôtre.

Agnelage - Formulaire d'inscription

Elevage et autres - Formulaire d'inscription


Remarque: le formulaire de contact pour 2019-2020 doit nous parvenir entre les mois de juillet et de septembre. Après cette période, nous risquons de ne pas pouvoir sélectionner l'étudiant demandé ou de vous trouver un étudiant. Nous pouvons néanmoins vous ajouter à la liste pour l'année suivante (2021).

image
image
image
image

Etudiants

Chers étudiants, vous êtes intéressés par l'agnelage ? Vous n'avez pas peur de relever vos manches, de vous salir et de travailler dur ? Tard et/ou tôt, mais ceci en accumulant un tas d’expérience ? Vous êtes à la bonne adresse ! Nous essayons de trouver la combinaison optimale pour que vous puissiez élargir vos connaissances et vos compétences. Nous vous aiderons à sortir de votre zone de confort, à poser une candidature solide et à trouver l'expérience que vous cherchez. Créez une pont entre les cours théoriques et votre futur travail.


Le formulaire d'inscription arrive bientôt.


Remarque: la date limite pour les candidatures est le mois de septembre. Si vous vous inscrivez après, nous risquons de ne plus avoir de place disponible pour vous. Aucune liste de réserve n'est maintenue. Chaque année, vous devrez introduire un nouveau formulaire.

image
image
image
image

Echanges antérieurs

Seamus Treanor
Co. Monaghan, Ireland

"Once again I just want to thank you so much for all you've done for us here. You really brightened the place up!"

John Probert
Covenhope farm, England

"I was very pleased with the students, they all felt like old friends when they left. We had worked hard together. I hope they found the experience worthwhile. I certainly did!"

Joyce Campbell
Armadale, Scotland

"Extremely lucky having these two ladies with us the past week. Their care and attention to our animals has been second to none."

image